Minutes of the European Butterflies Group Annual General Meeting held at 2.00 pm on 26 October 2024at Ibis Hotel Birmingham.

The Chair welcomed members to the meeting.

The Chair introduced the Committee members present – David Moore, Simon Spencer, Dudley Cheesman, Mike Williams, Nick Greatorex-Davies, Marian Thomas, Roger Gibbons, Sam Ellis, Bernard Watts, Dave Plowman and Martin Davies.

Apologies for absence were received from Nigel Peace, Martín Partridge, Terry Whittaker, Karen Goldie-Morrison, Paul Mapplebeck, Alan Bird, Chris and Howard Frost, Angela Witherby, Roger Kemp, Ken Hall, Kay Adamson, Ian Duncan, Gianpiero Ferrari, Nick Wynn and Tim Arnold.

The Chair outlined the agenda for the day which comprised the Chair's report, the Honorary Treasurer's report and the election and re-election of Committee members. Following which there would be time for questions.

After the formal business there would be two talks: Sam Ellis assisted by Martin Davies would give an update on progress on the new Red List of European butterflies and its implications for EBG.

Following a break for refreshments and networking Martin Davies would give a talk entitled "Wild Arctis Europe and its Butterflies".

The Chair advised that minutes of the last AGM which was held on 21 October 2023 had been posted on European Butterflies Group website and he proposed to take them as read. Keith Woonton proposed that the Minutes were approved and Simon Spencer seconded the motion. The meeting approved the Minutes.

The Chair advised that the minutes of the AGM will be placed on the EBG website.

The Chair delivered his report (attached).

The Treasurer had previously posted the accounts on the website and talked members through the current financial position which showed a healthy bank balance but with several already committed commitments including a grant to Butterfly Conservation Europe of €3500, payment to Mario Alamo of €2000 for

a repeat of the *Chazara prieuri* survey in 2025, an allowance for expenses for surveys in Sierra Nevada and payment to Corfu Butterfly Conservation of €500.

In accordance with BC rules one third of Branch Committee members are required to retire by seniority and be eligible for re-election. In addition, any members co-opted onto the Committee shall offer themselves for election at the following AGM. Accordingly, Roger Gibbons, Bernard Watts, Nigel Peace and Simon Spencer all stand down by rotation and all seek re-election. Dudley Cheesman proposed the re-elections seconded by Harry Clark and approved by the meeting.

The Chair opened the meeting for questions. Bernard Watts asked if any other members have put themselves forward to join the Committee and the Chair advised that no one had done so.

The Chair closed the formal business of the meeting at 2.20pm.